Print this page

Social Science

Division of Liberal Arts

The Division of Liberal Arts supports the University’s mission through the Social Science program.

The Social Science Department serves two major purposes:

  1. Provides all degree-oriented freshmen a six-to-nine-hour essential studies component, prepares social science majors who wish to go into such fields as, but not limited to, social work, counseling, law enforcement, law school, etc., and prepares social science teachers for the secondary schools.
  2. Members of the department believe that the education of teachers of social sciences involves (a) an adequate study of the several academic disciplines comprising the field; and (b) an appreciation of the influence of the social studies in molding character and shaping society.