Transfer Student Requirements

In addition to the application for admission, students transferring from another college or university must submit:

  1. a complete and official transcript of all college credit earned from each institution attended;

  2. an official high school transcript if earned less than 24 college semester hours (Policy M402.2), or 36 quarter hours, and;

  3. official ACT or SAT test scores if less than 24 semester hours of college course work has been completed.

If the Office of Admissions has not received such documentation by the fourth week of the student’s attendance, registration may be terminated.

Transfer applicants who have completed 24 or more semester or 36 or more quarter hours of credit toward a degree program shall be admitted to Mayville State if (Policy M402.4):

  • They are in good standing [not on dismissed or suspended status] at their most recent institution attended.

  • Present a cumulative grade point average of 2.0 on a 4.0 scale computed on all transferable work attempted at all colleges and universities previously attended.

Transfer students must meet the above academic standards for admission to the University. The applications of transfer students who are subject to an existing suspension order by another institution or who fail to meet the above standard for admission will be denied admission and given the right to appeal before the Admissions and Academic Standards Committee. The Committee may impose special conditions of admission for transfer students who fail to meet the academic standards.

Mayville State honors academic probation, existing suspensions, or disciplinary action recorded by a previous school. Students with existing financial obligations to other colleges and universities will be denied admission to MSU until those obligations are met.

Minnesota Distance Students

North Dakota University System is a public institution registered as a private institution with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions.

Minnesota Transfer Students

Students who transfer to Mayville State University with an Associate of Arts degree and have completed the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum requirements will be exempt from additional lower-division essential studies courses. These students will be deemed to have satisfied the essential studies requirements. Please note there may be program specific essential studies requirements to a major or baccalaureate degree.

Students who have completed an AS degree may have met North Dakota lower division general education requirements, but must provide the receiving North Dakota institution with an official transcript indicating such completion, as not all MnSCU AS degrees require MTC completion.

Mayville State institutional graduation requirements are not required for students who have earned a two- or four-year degree.

Transfer Students from California, Montana, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming

Students who transfer to Mayville State University from the following states may have met lower division essential studies requirements. The North Dakota University System of which Mayville State University is a member, has articulated agreements with Washington State Community and Technical College, South Dakota University System, Wyoming Community College System, California Community College System, Oregon University System and the Montana University System.

A review of current requirements and states can be found at

Additional Information when transferring to Mayville State University can be found at: